Merry Christmas Darling

It seems like every year there is one song that provides the inspiration for the compilation, and this year “Merry Christmas, Darling” is the one. Every time I hear this song I know I should not love it. The lyric is cheesy, full of lines designed for lovesick teenage girls (“Holidays are joyful. There’s always something new. But every day’s a holiday when I’m near to you”). The arrangement is overdone, demonstrating Richard Carpenter’s tendency for schmaltzy overproduction. All reasons to hate the thing.

But then there is Karen Carpenter’s vocal with letter perfect phrasing and more soul than this song deserves. Every time I listen to it, I get the same Christmassy fuzzy feeling.

I have posted a video (courtesy as usual of Youtube) from a Christmas TV special.

Leave a Reply

