Christmas Is a Time to Love

My friend Louise suggested this song.

A favorite Christmas memory from the days of my children being very young was the song “Christmas is a Time to Love” from Psalty’s Christmas Calamity. It is a Christian children’s Christmas musical that is corny but cute, and that particular song has real meaning for adults more than the kids in my opinion.

For those who don’t know Psalty, he is a walking, talking, singing hymn book (Psalter, Psalty, get it?) who is a sort of Christian Barney. There are Psalty books, tapes and CDs and as you can see in the picture Psalty stage shows.

Wikipedia describes the show “Psalty’s Christmas Calamity” like this

Kids Praise! Christmas: Psalty’s Christmas Calamity (1982)

In this episode, Psalty and the kids are putting on a Christmas show. While practicing, the kids notice Psalty’s pages are dusty. After trying different solutions, the disastrous result is the shrinking of Psalty’s pages. The kids go home in a state of hopelessness, with Psalty left depressed at home.

God speaks to Psalty and reminds him that it is only through God’s strength that anything is accomplished.

Relying on God for strength, the Christmas show goes just fine.

  • Songs: Joy To The World, O Come All Ye Faithful Medley: Away In A Manger, Angels We Have Heard On High, We Three Kings, The First Noel, Psalty’s Shampoo, Christmas Is A Time To Love, Fix It, Not By Might, Jingle Bells Medley: Here We Come A Caroling, Deck The Halls, God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen, Ding Dong Merrily On High, Silent Night, Joy To The World.

If you are keen to hear more about Psalty and the Christmas Calamity check this location.

I couldn’t find a “real” recording of “Christmas is a Time to Love,” but I did find a few seconds of children in a Hong Kong school singing the song and used it to open this year’s compilation. Obviously, it’s not a great song, but you have to be a real Scrooge not to want a time to love.

11 Comments »

  1. our christmas lights this 2010 would be made up from light emitting diodes which does not generates so much heat’**

  2. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss
    feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  3. It’s truly a great and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you
    shared this useful information with us. Please keep us informed like
    this. Thank you for sharing.

  4. After looking over a handful of the blog posts on your web page, I really
    appreciate your way of blogging. I book-marked it to my bookmark site
    list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Please check out my website too and tell me your opinion.

  5. What i don’t understood is if truth be told how you’re no longer really much more smartly-liked than you might
    be right now. You’re very intelligent. You understand therefore significantly when it comes to this subject, made me in my view believe it from a lot of numerous angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated until it is one thing to accomplish with Woman gaga!
    Your own stuffs excellent. At all times care for it up!

  6. Thanks for every other wonderful post. The place else may anyone get
    that kind of info in such an ideal manner of writing?
    I have a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look
    for such information.

  7. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will
    return once again since I saved as a favorite it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

  8. 8

    Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Christmas Is a Time to Love | It’s Beginning to Sound a Lot Like Christmas .

  9. 9
    baju bayi Says:

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Christmas Is a Time to Love | It’s Beginning to Sound a Lot Like Christmas .

  10. 10

    Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing on your feed
    and I’m hoping you write again very soon!

  11. 11
    homepage Says:

    It is not my first time to pay a quick visit this site, i am browsing this website dailly and get pleasant facts from here all the time.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

